LG Q6 Review – A Very Sexy Budget Smartphone

LG Q6

0.00
7.9

Display

9.0/10

Battery

8.0/10

Performance

7.5/10

Camera

6.5/10

Software

8.5/10

Pros

  • Great for Social Networking
  • Great for watching videos and listening to music
  • Multitasking and Instant Messaging
  • Android 7.1 Experience

Cons

  • Not for Photography enthusiasts
  • Not For Gamers
  • Long charge up time
  • No Fingerprint Scanner

Korean Manufacturer LG had a great start to 2017 with their outstanding flagship smartphone, the LG G6. One of the best smartphones released early this year, the G6 has a near bezel-less display. It also has groundbreaking design elements that have set the trend for smartphone designs that we have grown so accustomed to liking. Most of the G6’s sleek feature-rich package is now available in the budget format. A handset that costs half that of the G6. That device is the LG Q6.

The LG Q6 is a midrange budget Android smartphone. Released around the middle of 2017, the Q6 may be regarded as an LG G6 mini or lite version. This isn’t really the case if you dig deeper into the phones features. Apart from the G6’s near bezel-less “FullVision” display, there are actually a lot of serious differences between the two. In this review, I will highlight some of those differences while exploring some of the LG Q6 features.

Hardware

The LG Q6 retains a similar design language to that of the G6. It has the same bezel-less design up front with a sleek looking metal frame. The rear is a shiny brushed metal look just like the G6’s glass rear. Except that the Q6 is actually plastic instead of glass. The other difference with the Q6 is that it is missing a fingerprint scanner and has only a single 13MP camera.

Another thing that you will notice at the bottom is a cutout for the device’s only speaker. The speaker is fairly loud and clear. It gets the job done, even if it does sound a bit “tinny”. The rear may look good and may feel stronger than a glass back, but it certainly does scratch easily. So its best to go with a protective case here.

LG Q6 Rear
Outdated Micro-USB port which takes forever to top up that 3000mAh battery.

No Fingerprint Scanner

There is, unfortunately, no fingerprint scanner in the Q6. This is replaced with face recognition unlocking software. The lack of a fingerprint scanner may be a deal breaker for some, but I found myself being relatively satisfied with face recognition to unlock. That being said, I also do get pretty annoyed having to repeatedly use my passcode in situations where the sensor cannot pick up my face. As I am typing this article, I cannot unlock the phone that is sitting next to my laptop without having to lift it up to my face.

The good news is that when I do, it is pretty quick and it doesn’t necessary require an additional swipe to unlock. It gets into your phone pretty quickly and can at times be very impressive. You can also enable Smartlock, a feature that deactivates the phone lock features during certain preferred conditions and times. It won’t lock if it detects that you are carrying your smartphone around in your hand or pocket. This feature is also location based.

Display and Performance

The most impressive feature of the Q6 is its FullVision Display. LG has managed to cram a 5.5-inch display with curved edges into a smartphone that is about the size of an iPhone 8 (not the 8 plus!). The compact form factor has made this ergonomic wonder a pleasure to use. The screens 18:9 aspect ratio makes multitasking thoroughly enjoyable.

The LG Q6 is a social networking beast. I love multitasking on this phone. My favourite scenario is watching youtube while I go through the latest updates on Twitter. The Octa-Core Qualcomm Snapdragon 435 processor and 3GB RAM are more than capable to get things done. Switching between apps and opening up and running basic to medium heavy apps is a breeze. Most users will find that the Q6’s Display and Power will more than meet their daily needs.

Advance users, on the other hand, will be a little disappointed, especially when gaming. I have no problem playing Super Mario Run, but I do experience some stuttering while weaving through enemy fighter jets in Sky Force Reloaded.

LG Q6
LG Electronics

Camera and Battery Life

The LG Q6 comes with a single 13MP rear camera. Not only do we lose one of the G6’s dual cameras, but we no longer have that amazing Wide Angle feature. The good news is that you will have access to a 5MP wide-angle selfie cam at the front. The unfortunate truth about these cameras is that they are not good. They are slow and have a poor color reproduction. It is passable as an OK Instagram camera, but don’t expect to take amazing pictures with the Q6.

Battery life on the Q6 is what you can expect from a modern 3000mAh smartphone. It will get you through a day of relative usage easily. I always top up my battery in the morning and I find that I am only at 50% in the early parts of the evening. This is with light usage, meaning some phone calls and social networking. Using the camera and gaming does drain the battery really quickly (quicker than a lot of other phones, namely the G6).

One of the biggest drawbacks of the battery is the primitive micro USB charging port. I kid you not, this thing is slow! It will take you close to 2 hours to charge the phone from 0 to 100%. It is among the slowest I have ever experienced. I need to split this long charging times to 45 min in the morning and 45 min in the evening just so that it’s not tucked away in the corner for an excessively long time.

LG Q6 Front
Stunning Display that never grows old.

Conclusion – Is the LG Q6 Any Good?

The LG Q6 is a stunning smartphone that brings a flagship display to a budget smartphone. This is about as good as it gets because the rest of the features of this phone are average at best. If you place this phone next to a Samsung A5, you will choose the Q6 any day just on looks. But the A5 does almost everything else better. An example is better cameras and fast charge USB type C.

The same can be said about other budget phones in this segment, such as the Huawei P10 lite. These phones outdo the LG Q6 in many ways. That being said I have still come to enjoy my time with my Q6. It may not be the best, but that display certainly is amazing.

 

2 Minute Review is part of the Amazon Affiliates Program.

LG Q6
  • 7.9/10
    LG Q6 Review - 7.9/10
7.9/10

Summary

A Beautiful Budget smartphone that disappoints in the spec and camera department. The LG Q6 is a pleasure to use due to its amazing display. There are a few big downsides (like no fingerprint scanner) that needs to be overlooked. But personally, that extremely long charge time is a major bummer!

Hi. I’m Jameel. I’m a Technology Blogger who loves reviewing stuff and voicing my opinions on anything. I hope you find my reviews helpful while having fun on my website.

Jameel

Hi. I'm Jameel. I'm a Technology Blogger who loves reviewing stuff and voicing my opinions on anything. I hope you find my reviews helpful while having fun on my website.

0 thoughts on “LG Q6 Review – A Very Sexy Budget Smartphone

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: